劳动人事法律

方达在帮助企业应对中国纷繁复杂、不断变化的劳动法律法规以及各级和各地的司法实践上具有丰富的经验。我们向客户提供切实可行的符合商业逻辑的法律意见。我们备受推崇的劳动法律师对中国的劳动法律法规和实践操作具有全面和深入的了解,并且能够在处理劳动和人事问题时对客户的商业需求作出精准的把握。

我们在为国内外客户提供有关劳动人事的法律建议方面有着丰富的经验,同时也拥有帮助客户建立有效的操作规范和流程的良好业绩。

我们经常与其他法辖的律师事务所(包括全球性的劳动法律顾问网络Ius Laboris的会员事务所)合作,在涉及跨境事务方面为客户提供服务。

市场赞誉

  • 劳动与雇佣(中国所):第二等级
    《The Legal 500 亚太地区律所排名》,2015-2021
  • 劳动法(中国所):第三等级
    《钱伯斯 亚太法律指南》,2015-2021
  • 劳动与雇佣:受推荐
    《亚洲法律名录》,2019-2021
  • 劳动与雇佣(中国所):第二等级
    Benchmark Litigation亚太区,2020

代表项目

Labor & Employment

咨询服务

我们为不同行业的客户(包括希尔顿、领英、阿美特克、上海纽约大学、飞利浦、布鲁克、万豪、海虹老人百济神州等)在其日常人事管理方面遇到的各类劳动法问题提供法律建议。这些问题包括雇佣、患病、工伤、职业病、法定福利、违纪处分、降职、降薪以及解除劳动合同。

合规规划及政策

我们帮助客户起草人事管理相关的文件,包括员工手册、道德/行为准则、聘用函、保密和竞业限制协议、职务发明奖励政策、短期和长期激励计划以及股权激励计划。其中的代表性事项包括:

  • 为一家美国医疗器械公司就其股权激励计划本地化提供法律意见,其目的是为了激励其本地管理层。
  • 为一家美国的先进高性能过程控制计量和检测系统的提供者针对其中国的管理层长期激励计划的起草提供法律意见。
  • 为一家美国咨询公司就其调整对中国管理层的激励计划提供法律意见。
劳动仲裁及诉讼

我们在劳动仲裁及/或诉讼中代表客户解决全国各地发生的各种类型的劳动争议案件,包括薪酬/激励、违反竞业限制约定、商业秘密、事实劳动关系、违纪处分和解雇。其中的代表性事项包括:

  • 代表一家大型美国零售企业在中国的子公司参与了六起由其因严重违纪行为而被解除的员工提起的劳动仲裁和诉讼。
  • 代表一家光伏制造公司参与由其前员工提起的十一个关于薪酬的劳动仲裁和诉讼案件,并帮助客户在所有案件中获得胜诉。
  • 代表一家美国的投资公司处理其与其在上海的前中国区首席执行官之间有关股权激励的纠纷,其争议金额超过180万美元。
  • 代表一家美国的化工公司参与其针对其前市场经理的关于违反竞业限制条款的劳动仲裁和诉讼。
交易中的劳动法支持及裁员

我们为客户就各类商业交易和公司行为(例如并购、搬迁、重组、解散/清算)所涉及的员工转移或裁员提供法律意见,并帮助客户在全国各地就员工转移或裁员进行实施。其中的代表性事项包括:

  • 为一家美国的工业公司就其因清算和关闭一家上海当地的实体而解雇1000多名员工提供法律意见。我们帮助客户准备了所有法律文件、制定谈判策略和行动计划以及参与谈判。
  • 为一家欧洲咖啡制造公司在其广州的业务终止时解雇150多名员工提供法律意见。我们帮助我们的客户准备了所有法律文件、制定了沟通和行动计划、与行政机构洽谈,并与员工进行了面对面的会谈。
  • 为一家英国零售商就其因店铺关闭解雇在中国五个城市的300多名员工提供法律意见。我们帮助我们的客户准备了所有法律文件、制定了沟通和行动计划,并与员工进行了谈判,其中包括不配合的员工。
  • 为一家欧洲电子制造商就其解雇其在中国一家工厂的80多名员工提供法律意见。我们帮助我们的客户准备了法律文件并与当地的劳动部门进行了沟通。
人员流动及就业许可

我们为客户就涉及人员流动及就业许可方面的问题提供法律意见,例如派遣、工作签证、工作许可和居留许可问题。

Labor & Employment

Fangda has in-depth experience of assisting business to navigate the challenging and constantly evolving employment laws, regulation and practice at different administrative and locality levels in China. We deliver sound, practical and commercially focused advice.

Our highly regarded employment lawyers have extensive knowledge of employment law and practice in China as well as finely honed understanding of our clients’ business requirements when it comes to all employment and labor issues.

We have considerable experience of advising both international and Chinese clients on their employment and labor requirements, and a proven track record of helping them establish effective employment practices and procedures.

We frequently work with firms in other jurisdictions to serve clients on matters involving a cross-border element, including collaborating with member firms of Ius Laboris, a global network of employment lawyers.

Recognition

  • Labor and Employment: PRC firms – Tier 2
    The Legal 500 Asia Pacific 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020
  • Employment (PRC Firms) – Band 3
    Chambers Asia-Pacific 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020
  • Labor & Employment – Recommended
    Asialaw Profiles 2019, 2020

Notable Matters

Labor & Employment

Counseling

We advise clients in different industries (including Hilton, LinkedIn, Ametek, NYU Shanghai, Philips, Bruker, Marriott, Hempel, and BeiGene) on a broad range of employment law issues they encounter in their day-to-day HR management. Among those issues are hiring, sickness, work injuries, occupational diseases, statutory benefits, disciplinary action, demotion, salary reduction and termination.

Compliance Planning and Policies

We assist clients to prepare HR-related documents, including employee handbooks, codes of ethics/conduct, offer letters, confidentiality and non-competition agreements, employee invention policies, short- and long-term incentive plans and programs (S/LTIPs), and share-based incentive plans and programs (ESOPs). This includes advising:

  • A U.S.-based medical appliance company on the localization of its ESOP to incentivize its local management team in China.
  • A U.S.-based leading provider of advanced, high-performance process control metrology and inspection systems in drafting a long-term incentive plan for its China management team.
  • A U.S.-based consulting company in changing its incentive plan for its management team in China.
Labor Arbitration and Litigation

We represent clients in labor arbitration and/or litigation in a broad range of employment disputes, including compensation/incentives, non-compete clauses, trade secrets, de facto employment, disciplinary actions and dismissal, in different cities in China. These include representing:

  • A large U.S. retail company’s China affiliates in six labor dispute arbitration and litigation cases initiated by former employees dismissed on grounds of gross misconduct.
  • A photovoltaic manufacturing company in 11 labor dispute arbitration and litigation cases initiated by its former employees over their compensation, winning all the cases on behalf of our client.
  • A U.S.-based investment company in an ESOP dispute case involving its former Chinese CEO in Shanghai, where the amount in dispute was more than US$1.8 million.
  • A U.S.-based chemical company in a labor dispute arbitration and litigation case against its former marketing manager for breach of non-compete clause.
Transactional Labor Law Support and Layoffs

We advise clients on the transfer or layoff of employees in the context of commercial transactions and corporate activities, such as M&A, relocation, restructuring and dissolution/liquidation, and also help clients implement the transfer or layoff in different cities in China. This includes advising:

  • A U.S. industrial company on its layoff of more than 1,000 employees arising from liquidation and closure of one of its local entities in Shanghai. Our advice included preparing all documents, developing a negotiation strategy and action plan, and handling the negotiation.
  • A European coffee maker on its layoff of more than 150 employees when it closed its business in Guangzhou. We helped our client to prepare all legal documents, develop communication and action plans, communicate with authorities, and conduct the face-to-face meeting with employees.
  • A British retailer on its layoff of more than 300 employees in five Chinese cities as a result of store closures. We helped our client prepare all legal documents, develop communication and action plans, and negotiate with employees, not all of whom cooperated.
  • A European electronics producer on its layoff of more than 80 employees in one of its China factories. We helped our client to prepare the legal documents, and communicate with the local labor authority.
Mobility and Immigration

We advise clients on issues relating to mobility and immigration issues, such as secondment, Z Visas, work permits and residence permits.